Resources

Alicia Garza is the co-founder of Black Lives Matter: A Herstory of the #Black Lives Matter Movement: Livehttp://thefeministwire.com/2014/10/blacklivesmatter-2/

Black Lives Matter: 11 Major Misconceptions About the Black Lives Matter Movement: http://blacklivesmatter.com/11-major-misconceptions-about-the-black-lives-matter-movement/

Black Lives Matter Guiding Principles:http://blacklivesmatter.com/guiding-principles/

Moving The Race Conversation Forward www.youtube.com/watch?v=LjGQaz1u3V4#t=112

What is Systemic Racism: How Systemic Racism Impacts Incarceration, Housing, Immigration,and Employment. www.youtube.com/watch?v=SgH2aN3ehFA

How To Tell Someone They Sound Racist www.youtube.com/watch?v=b0Ti-gkJiXc#t=104

Jeff Chang is the author of We Gon’ Be Alright: Notes on Race and Resegregation and Who We Be: A Cultural History of Race in Post-Civil Rights America http://www.motherjones.com/media/2016/10/jeff-chang-we-gon-be-alright-race-resegregation

Michelle Alexander is a lawyer, legal scholar, and author of The New Jim Crow: Mass Incarceration in the Age of Colorblindness.
The Future of Race in America. TEDxColumbus: www.youtube.com/watch?v=SQ6H-Mz6hgw

Robin DiAngelo writes on “white fragility” and why it is hard for white people to talk about race: goodmenproject.com/featured-content/white-fragility-why-its-so-hard-to-talk-to-white-people- about-racism-twlm/ goodmenproject.com/featured-content/white-fragility-and-the-rules-of-engagement-twlm/

Tim Wise writes extensively on whiteness and white privilege in America. The links below also include one to his recent documentary, White Like Me. www.thesunmagazine.org/issues/403/by_the_color_of_their_skin
www.timwise.org/f-a-q-s/

White Like Me: www.youtube.com/watch?v=ItiXR5m1yAY

Thea Monyee is a poet, therapist, writer, and the author of We Cannot Have Honest Discussions About Race If We Refuse To Address Whiteness. http://www.forharriet.com/2015/06/we-cannot-have-honest-discussions-about.html

Asam Ahmad: What Makes Callout Culture So Toxic http://www.filmsforaction.org/articles/a-note-on-callout-culture/

Paul Kivel: White Benefits, Middle Class Privilege http://collectiveliberation.org/wp-content/uploads/2013/01/Kivel_Uprooting_Racism_excerpts.pdf

Resources for parents interested in developing their skills and capacity for talking about race with children:

Ali Michael and Eleonora Bartoli: What White Children Need to Know About Race www.nais.org/Magazines-Newsletters/ISMagazine/Pages/What-White-Children-Need-to-Know- About-Race.aspx

Michelle Alexander: Telling My Son About Ferguson www.nytimes.com/2014/11/26/opinion/ferguson-telling-my-son-michelle-alexander.html?_r=0

Anna Blackshaw: What I Am Teaching My White Son About Race www.alternet.org/culture/what-i-am-teaching-my-white-son-about-race

Terry Keleher: White Dad, Black Son and Raising Kids in a Colorblind World www.colorlines.com/articles/white-dad-black-son-and-raising-kids-colorblind-world

Alyssa Dunn: On Mothering White Sons To Know That #Black Lives Matter http://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/on-mothering-white-sons-to-know-blacklivesmatter_us_577e85bce4b03288ddc57d79

Kamau Bell: If You See Racism Say Racism www.thisamericanlife.org/radio- archives/episode/557/birds-bees?act=2

Raising Race Conscious Children is a blog about raising racially aware children www.raceconscious.org

Sachi Feris: Why I Talk Race with My Toddler www.raceconscious.org/2015/01/whyitalkracewithmytoddler/

For more about SURJ: http://www.showingupforracialjustice.org/about

SURJ National also has a list of resources that can be found here: www.showingupforracialjustice.org/resources

%d bloggers like this: